We Are NOT a Fairytale

Growing up, I was told countless times that I’d get my own fairytale. It took 20 years for me to realize that is not what I wanted.

My whole life I chased frogs thinking if I kissed the right one it would turn into a prince. I went for mentally, emotionally and even physically abusive guys thinking I could change them with my love.

That’s not real. Fairytales are not real.

So, when I met you, I realized that all of these ideals I had of love in my mind were wrong. I saw that love is work. It is not always hunky dory, hugs and kisses.

We are going to fight. We are not going to agree on everything. We are going to need each other at times and not realize how badly the other person needs us because both of us are stubborn and won’t say it out loud until it is almost too late. We will not always be the two most loving people on the Earth…

But we will love each other like we’ve never been loved.

We will hold each other when there are no words to say.

We will kiss when we feel like kissing, and we will hug when we feel like hugging.

We will tell each other we love each other at the end of the day and the beginning of every morning because I never want you or myself to question the love we have.

We will protect each other

We will not ever give up on the same day, ever.

We will fight for each other.

We will never allow the D word to be in our vocabulary.

We will never lie or cheat.

We will support each others dreams and desires no matter how crazy they may seem at the time, but also keep each other level minded and bring each other down to earth when need be.

We will lift each other up in our prayers, and we will never be so selfish that we only prayer for what is best for ourselves instead of our whole household.

I can’t promise you the world or even just a fairytale, but I can promise you all of this, and for me that’s a million times better than a fairytale. It is raw, and it is real, and it is us.

I love you.

Leave a comment